X-Junk-Score: 0 [] X-Cloudmark-Score: 0 [] Return-Path: Received: from [216.211.26.102] (HELO tbaytel.net) by mail.stalker.com (CommuniGate Pro SMTP 5.2.14) with ESMTP id 54285543 for CGatePro@mail.stalker.com; Mon, 29 Jun 2009 05:45:49 -0700 Received-SPF: pass receiver=mail.stalker.com; client-ip=216.211.26.102; envelope-from=jwark@tbaytel.net X-CGP-ClamAV-Result: CLEAN X-VirusScanner: Niversoft's CGPClamav Helper v1.9.4 (ClamAV engine v0.95.1) Received: from [192.168.26.48] (account jeff@tbaytel.net HELO [127.0.0.1]) by front2.tbaytel.net (CommuniGate Pro SMTP 5.2.14) with ESMTPSA id 2965256 for CGatePro@mail.stalker.com; Mon, 29 Jun 2009 08:45:02 -0400 Message-ID: <4A48B763.6090501@tbaytel.net> Date: Mon, 29 Jun 2009 08:45:23 -0400 From: Jeff Wark User-Agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.22 (Windows/20090605) MIME-Version: 1.0 To: CommuniGate Pro Discussions Subject: Re: DUL/PBL and other policy block lists References: In-Reply-To: Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit What do you do then when someone like MAPS or SORBS adds you to their own list and then won't take you off unless you comply with their 'standards'? You're still in the same boat. At least with Spamhaus, they have an interface that you can update yourself. Fred Zwarts wrote, at 6/26/2009 4:11 AM: > "Jeff Wark" wrote in message news:list-54210974@mail.stalker.com... >> We currently have our dynamic IP address blocks listed with spamhaus [through >> their PBL] and with MAPS [in their DUL]. >> >> We have a customer sending mail through our server to another >> recipient...pretty standard stuff. Here is what my logs are saying: >> >> *our server getting the message* >> 2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:47.981 2 SMTPI-269182([216.26.223.110]) [2612154] >> received, 4518 bytes >> 2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:47.981 4 SMTPI-269182([216.26.223.110]) rsp: 250 >> 2612154 message accepted for delivery >> >> *our server sending the message* >> 2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:48.268 4 SMTP-015270(on.sja.ca) [2612154] sending >> 2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:49.060 1 SMTP-015270(on.sja.ca) [2612154] message >> body rejected, got:554 mail from 216.26.223.110 refused, see >> http://www.spamhaus.org >> >> It appears that the server on.sja.ca is doing some sort of 'deep scanning' of >> the received headers and rejecting an email if the email in question has >> originated on any computer with an IP address listed in a blacklist/policy >> list somewhere. This seems to completely defeat the usefulness of these >> lists. The IP is not on any other blacklist at www.spamhaus.org, only the PBL. >> >> Has anyone else experienced this recently? It happened with another server a >> few weeks ago. These people must be rejecting legitimate email all over the >> place if they will not accept an email that has touched a dynamic IP address. > > Yes, this happens. That is one of the reasons we do not add our addresses to such lists. > We configure our routers/switches to block outgoing port 25 (SMTP) access for > addresses that should not send E-mail. This is more effective and less sensitive > for such errors. And problems can be solved locally in case of errors. > > > ############################################################# > This message is sent to you because you are subscribed to > the mailing list . > To unsubscribe, E-mail to: > To switch to the DIGEST mode, E-mail to > To switch to the INDEX mode, E-mail to > Send administrative queries to -- Jeff Wark TBayTel Internet 807-625-3041