X-Junk-Score: 0 [] X-Cloudmark-Score: 0 [] Return-Path: Received: from [216.211.26.160] (HELO tbaytel.net) by mail.stalker.com (CommuniGate Pro SMTP 5.2.14) with ESMTP id 54210976 for CGatePro@mail.stalker.com; Thu, 25 Jun 2009 11:21:39 -0700 Received-SPF: pass receiver=mail.stalker.com; client-ip=216.211.26.160; envelope-from=jwark@tbaytel.net X-CGP-ClamAV-Result: CLEAN X-VirusScanner: Niversoft's CGPClamav Helper v1.9.4 (ClamAV engine v0.95.1) Received: from [192.168.26.48] (account jeff@tbaytel.net HELO [127.0.0.1]) by front2.tbaytel.net (CommuniGate Pro SMTP 5.2.14) with ESMTPSA id 2639409 for CGatePro@mail.stalker.com; Thu, 25 Jun 2009 14:20:51 -0400 Message-ID: <4A43C014.1030602@tbaytel.net> Date: Thu, 25 Jun 2009 14:21:08 -0400 From: Jeff Wark User-Agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.22 (Windows/20090605) MIME-Version: 1.0 To: CommuniGate Pro Discussions Subject: DUL/PBL and other policy block lists Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit We currently have our dynamic IP address blocks listed with spamhaus [through their PBL] and with MAPS [in their DUL]. We have a customer sending mail through our server to another recipient...pretty standard stuff. Here is what my logs are saying: *our server getting the message* 2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:47.981 2 SMTPI-269182([216.26.223.110]) [2612154] received, 4518 bytes 2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:47.981 4 SMTPI-269182([216.26.223.110]) rsp: 250 2612154 message accepted for delivery *our server sending the message* 2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:48.268 4 SMTP-015270(on.sja.ca) [2612154] sending 2009-06-25_10-00.log:10:30:49.060 1 SMTP-015270(on.sja.ca) [2612154] message body rejected, got:554 mail from 216.26.223.110 refused, see http://www.spamhaus.org It appears that the server on.sja.ca is doing some sort of 'deep scanning' of the received headers and rejecting an email if the email in question has originated on any computer with an IP address listed in a blacklist/policy list somewhere. This seems to completely defeat the usefulness of these lists. The IP is not on any other blacklist at www.spamhaus.org, only the PBL. Has anyone else experienced this recently? It happened with another server a few weeks ago. These people must be rejecting legitimate email all over the place if they will not accept an email that has touched a dynamic IP address. -- Jeff Wark TBayTel Internet 807-625-3041